My formal education cost me $75,000 and taught me how to get a formal education. And that’s about it.

Artsy Fartsy Parrot Mama
3 min readMay 29, 2018
“A stack of thick folders on a white surface” by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

As I get older, I’m struck by the disconnection between my formal education and the nuances of real life.

In high school, I took history, biology, religion, math, German, Latin, art, literature, creative writing, and the required health class and gym. I participated in drama productions, the school newspaper, and some school sports.

In college, I took classes on administrative functions, communications, leadership, management, finance, mathematics, healthcare, philosophy, and psychology.

Until I finished my master’s degree, it didn’t really occur to me that none of these classes really taught me the skills I needed for life.

My real education really started at 19 when I left my parents’ house at 3 a.m. with a trash bag full of clothes after a conflict over a bullshit curfew.

It continued when I dropped out of college because I needed to work three jobs to make ends meet.

It continued when I had my first alcoholic drink.

It continued when I was nearly drowned by my abusive boyfriend.

It continued when I was fired from a job although I told the truth.

--

--

Artsy Fartsy Parrot Mama

Book nerd and freelance writer finding gold in ordinary places. And I always follow back.